Opinions: Get Out

I recently got a Nintendo Switch, and after playing Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild for a little too long (I’ve been frustratingly obsessed), a friend asked me to hang out with him and watch Get Out. Seeing that I hadn’t watched the movie yet and there was quite a buzz around the movie and looking at the trailers reminded me of my daily struggles, being a black male and often finding romantic interests in white females, I decided to watch the film with him. And woof, it was a good movie—I loved it, but fuck this movie.

In case you’ve been living under a rock or have somehow missed the eighteen million ads shown for this movie, Youtube was ridiculous with those ads, Get Out is about a black male named Chris (Daniel Kaluuya of Sicario fame) going out to his girlfriend’s, Rose (Allison Williams of Girls fame), parent’s house. Of course there’s a problem, being that Chris is black and doesn’t quite know how Rose’s family will react to him being black. It’s a premise that dates as far as Guess Who’s Coming to Dinner. It’s a premise that a lot of black males and females have to think about, even in these contemporary times, because even if your white significant other’s parents claim to be extremely liberal or state that they’d vote for Obama a third time, there’s still a racial barrier to think about. There’s still a fear of rejection for inclusion because we understand history. You can yell, “But it’s 2017!”, as much as you want, but I mean…we’ll never quite be post racial.

So the movie starts out by introducing Chris’ fears. There’s a series of micro-aggressions and sometimes straight out racism. We’re given problems with the police. We’re given dumb as fuck observations, comments about genetic make-up, themes of the protection of white daughters from the suspicious Jeromes here to steal and corrupt them. The audience I sat amongst in the theatre was mainly black and we winced upon each micro-aggression because we had all been there before. The worst moment was during the family’s party. There was that phobia of being one of the only minorities amongst a wave of whites, feeling like a unicorn everyone wants to pet, observe, and hunt. Where you’re squeezed because of a believed notion of racial difference. You’re a exhibition to peeps who vision you as subhuman, regardless of if they state it or not.

But then it starts to shift to the surreal utilizing the racial tension already established and doubles down on it with sci-fi-esque proposals. It brings forth an idea of fighting back from oppressive forces, and the movie has fun with it. Even with the horror suspense of the movie or the racial tensions, this movie still finds a way to be humorous, usually through Chris’ friend, Rod (Lil Rey Howery). Overall the movie was fun. It was something I’d watch again, not immediately of course, but I walked out of the theater and quite frankly, I was shook. I should’ve seen the movie simply as fun and laughed it off and went on with my day, but the movie made me think. I keep saying this, but Get Out really pushed me on the edge for it, 2017 is the year I re-think my relationship with white people. And it’s not to say I’m just going to hate white people—I’d never do that. It’s just that I’m re-thinking the way I interact with white people. I can’t just assume they’ll care about me. I can’t assume they’ll care about my rights. I can’t assume they’ll stick up for me or won’t see me as an object at some point in time. Because as there’ve been complaints about the hypocrisy of white liberals or complaints about the Women’s March and how feminism needs to be more intersectional, a certain fear creeps up that maybe, even amongst my best friends, I may not matter if race truly becomes an issue. Cause as this movie kinda taught me (not to be taken completely serious because of course there are going to be exceptions and that’s great. And don’t worry the world might be fine.) no matter how progressive someone might claim to be, at the end of the day, you could still be considered just a nigger. So did I need this movie in my life? Yeah. Did I want this movie in my life? Yes. Did I want to think after this movie? Hell no and I wish I could go back to when I was fifteen and pursued white girls cause I was a nerd and black girls didn’t like me, but it’s too late.

Anyways to get out of this seriousness (we can roll credits here guys), I leave you with how I’d be if I were in Chris’ shoes. Later days.

Leave a Reply

